For the promotion and protection of human rights and to ensure the justice and equality of society, the Human Rights Commission, Taiwan was established on August 1, 2020, as Taiwan’s sole government agency in charge of human rights. In Taiwan, the Commission is charged with the responsibility of realizing the protection of human rights and aligning them with International Bill of Human Rights.

On the 1st anniversary of its establishment, with “development of human rights” as its core theme, the Commission will hold the 2021 International Human Rights Development Conference, to which it has invited experts and scholars in the field of human rights and practical workers at human rights organizations from Japan, Korea, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, and the Czech Republic to exchange their knowledge with experts and scholars from Taiwan. The conference will address the central theme of human rights by approaching each specific topic from various perspectives, while also going into investigations, all with the view of fostering human rights exchange and opening up educational opportunities. In consideration of the International Bill of Human Rights, discussion will proceed by focusing on six main topics:

  1. Ethnic equality and development
  2. Gender and human rights
  3. The development and strategies of national human rights commissions
  4. Human rights protection under COVID-19
  5. Case sharing on conducting a national inquiry into a systematic pattens of human rights violations
  6. Human rights education

Considering that international speakers may be unable to come to Taiwan for the event due to the continuing severity of the COVID-19 pandemic worldwide, the conference will be conducted using both physical and online methods. Speakers are invited to share their valuable experience with the audience by speaking physically or online, and thereby jointly investigate the value and norms of universal human rights.

Organizer

Organizer:Nation Human Rights Commission, Taiwan

為促進及保障人民權利,確保社會公平正義之實現,國家人權委員會於2020年8月1日成立,為我國唯一專責人權工作之國家機關,肩負著國內人權保障及接軌國際人權公約之重要職責。

在國家人權委員會成立1周年之際,規劃以「人權發展」為主軸,舉辦「2021人權發展國際研討會」,邀請日本、韓國、澳洲、紐西蘭、美國、英國、法國、荷蘭及捷克等國家人權相關領域之專家學者及人權組織實務工作者與國內學者專家進行交流。本次研討會將透過人權視角,對於各主題進行不同面向的觀察及探討,增進人權交流與人權教育。會議主題參酌國際人權公約,聚焦六大主題進行研討:

  1. 族群平等與發展
  2. 性別與人權 
  3. 各國國家人權委員會之發展及策略
  4. 疫情期間之人權保障
  5. 系統性國家詢查案例分享 
  6. 人權教育 

儘管COVID-19新冠肺炎疫情嚴峻,國際講者無法親自來臺交流,藉由科技協助,研討會將以虛實整合的方式進行,邀請線上/實體講者共同參與,與聽眾分享寶貴經驗,共同探究普世人權之價值及規範。

主辦單位

主辦單位:國家人權委員會